SUMMARY OF IMPORTANT LAKE RULES
For a PDF version of these rules click here.
- All Kansas boating and fishing regulations apply. (See KDWPT website www.ksoutdoors.com/boating for complete boating and fishing regulations).
- All motorized craft and sailboats must have current Kansas license and City Lake permit affixed to the starboard bow.
- Kansas law requires that all boats have one Type I, II, III or V personal flotation device (PFD) of proper size, in serviceable condition, not in an enclosed compartment, and readily accessible for each person on board or being towed.
- A person under 12 years of age cannot operate a motorcraft, including personal watercraft (PWC) unless accompanied and under the direct supervision of a parent or other person over 17 years of age.
- The area between the buoys and the shore is a no-wake zone. Craft shall not go fast enough to create a visible wake in this area.
- All operation outside the no-wake zone shall be in a counter-clockwise direction.
- No-wake times for the entire lake:
- Every day between sunset and 8 AM.
- Any time of day or night between Oct. 30 and April 15.
- A current aquatic nuisance species (ANS) certificate must be in the possession of all fishermen age 18 and over.
- No watercraft, including PWCs, shall be operated in a manner to imperil or deliberately annoy fishermen, other watercraft or persons on docks or shore.
- No watercraft, including PWCs, shall maneuver in small circles, nor stop or turn sharply, except in case of emergency, to pick up a fallen skier or to retrieve someone from the lake.
- All watercraft which create a wave, will be operated counter-clockwise in the main body of the lake inside the area well marked by buoys. Larger boats create a bigger wake and should operate further inside the buoys to minimize wave damage to other boats and waterfront structures.
VIOLATORS ARE SUBJECT TO FINES!